Brad Feld of Foundry Group and Mobius Venture Capital

Brad Feld is an MIT graduate who’s technological aptitude has taken him on an entrepreneurial journey that currently has him in position to what he loves, help start companies. Brad is Managing Director at Foundry Group and Mobius Venture Capital. Previously he founded his own company and served as CTO for the company that acquired the company he started. He also serves on the boards of several private companies and non-profits. Here’s how he took on the six simple questions:

What did you want to be when you grew up?  I never really thought hard about it. My dad was a doctor so I knew that I didn’t want to a be doctor. I started playing with computers when I was 12 (1977) so that was always in my mind.

Whether it is in a big way or a small way, how do you change the world?  I love to help create companies. I’ve been a co-founder or early investor in over 100 companies.

What’s one invention or innovation that would change the way you do your work?  If my compute infrastructure was smarter and could figure out what I wanted and didn’t want, my life would be a lot better.

What problem do you encounter most frequently in your everyday life?  Massively inefficient stuff – whether it’s a function of government regulation, the stultifying bureaucracy of accounting firms, or the current inefficient “deal process” that “just is this way.”

If you could go back to when you were just starting out, what are two things you’d do differently?  Nothing.

What’s your favorite flavor of ice cream?  Chocolate anything.

To learn about more about Brad and what he does, check out his two blogs: Feld Thoughts and Ask the VC

Leave a Reply

